Australia: The Order of Australia

Insignia of the Sovereign, and of Knights and Dames

Ribbon: Royal blue with a central band of scattered gold mimosa blossoms. The ribbon for the military division has gold borders.

Civil Division Military Division

Instituted: 14 February 1975 by Queen Elizabeth II.

Awarded: For achievement and merit in service to Australia or humanity.

Grades: 3 (Companion, Officer and Member), plus a Medal; in 2 Divisions, General and Military. The additional grade of Knight or Dame was awarded between 1976 and 1986, and was reinstated 25 March 2014.

Post-nominal letters: Knight - AK; Dame - AD.

Knight and Dame General Division Military Division
Knight: Badge Knight or Dame: Star Dame: Badge
Knight's Badge Star Dame's Badge
World Medals Index Text List Ribbon Chart References

Page last updated: 1 April 2014