United Kingdom: Indian Order of Merit (Military)

Ribbon: Blue with red edges.

Instituted: 1837.
Discontinued: 1947.

Awarded: For gallantry in battle displayed by members of the Indian Army.

Grades: Originally 3, but the highest class was abolished in 1912 when Indian personnel became eligible for the Victoria Cross, and was reduced to a single class in 1945.

Type 1
Type 2
Type 3
Type 4
Insignia Obverse Sorry - no picture of reverse
World Medals Index Text List Ribbon Chart References

Page last updated: 3 July 2016